Mini-COBRA State Laws

 Mini-COBRA states are states that have federal COBRA-like laws on the books, but the coverage applies to employers with 2-19 employees.  Plus, the coverage may be limited in duration and eligibility.  See below for a listing of states that have mini-COBRA laws.

State

Coverage

Duration of mini-COBRA

Arkansas

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

max. 120 days

California

2-19 Ees

36 months

Colorado see 10-16-108

2-19 Ees

18 months

Connecticut

2-19 EEs

30 months

Delaware

2-19 employees

Up to 9 months (Valid only 6/21/12 to 1/1/2014)

District of Columbia

2-19 EEs

3 months

Florida

2-19 EEs

18 months

Georgia

2-19 EEs, covered at least 6 months prior

3 months

Illinois

Employees covered for 3 months prior.

Employee - 12 months, Spouse/Dependents - 18 months)

Indiana

2-50 employees (if covered 90 days prior)

12 months

Iowa

2-19 EEs

9 months

Kansas

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months

18 months

Kentucky

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months

18 months

Louisiana

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months

12 months

Maine

2-19 EEs

12 months

Maryland

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

18 months

Massachusetts

2-19 EEs, If AGI is < 400% of federal poverty guidelines, state may pay 80% of EE's 35% of cost.

18-36 months

Minnesota

2-19 EEs.

18 months

Mississippi, See 83-9-51

2-19 EEs if covered for previous 3 months.

12 months

Missouri

2-19 EEs

9 months

Montana

Group policies, if covered 3 months prior.

12 months

Nebraska

2-19 EEs

12 months

Nevada

2-19 EEs

18-36 months

New Hampshire

2-19 EEs

18 months

New Jersey

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

18 months

New Mexico

2-19 EES

6 months

New York

2-19 EEs

18-36 months

North Carolina

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

18 months

North Dakota

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

39 weeks

Ohio

10-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

6 months

Oklahoma

2-19 EEs, if covered 6 months prior.

9 months

Oregon

2-19 months, if covered 3 months prior.

9 months

Pennsylvania

2-19 EEs

9 months

Rhode Island

2-19 EEs (Subsidy will not apply to domestic partners)

18 months

South Carolina

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 6 months.

6 months

South Dakota

2-19 EEs.

18 months

Tennessee

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

3 months

Texas

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

6 months

Utah

2-19 EEs.

12 months

Vermont

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

6 months

Virginia

Employees under a "group" policy.

12 months

West Virginia

2-19 EEs.

18 months

Wisconsin

2-19 EEs, if covered previous 3 months.

18 months

Wyoming (Chapters 19 & 22)

2-19 EEs.

12 months

 

Miss. Code Ann. § 83-9-51

Published on Monday, April 19, 2010 (updated 04/15/2016)